Today, the bird I have most enjoyed watching is the Red-Billed Hornbill

On an early morning game drive today, there were slim pickings. Nothing really attracted my attention. I took the road less well travelled, a spur of the 040, and bumped my way across some parched black-cotton soil to a dusty track. After a kilometre or so, I came across a red-billed hornbill. He was picking up ants and termites, flicking them up and catching them in his bill. This is an amazing skill, but how many termites would made up his RDA (recommended daily allowance) of protein? A thousand? That is a morning’s work.

Handsome bird, isn't he?
Handsome bird, isn’t he?
Full frontal view, with eyelashes
Full frontal view, with eyelashes

On my laptop screen, I can just see the creatures between the jaws as he is about to catch them. I hope they show up on the blog photographs.

Getting his prey in the tip of his bill
Getting his prey in the tip of his bill
Ant down the hatch
Ant down the hatch
Termite being eaten
Termite being eaten
Leave a Reply

