India Art Festival 2017

I admit I was flustered. I was standing in for my vacationing boss when I got a call requesting our assistance. I was in the city, away from the clinic and the cell phone reception was dire. Calls were breaking up and so was my composure as I walked briskly along the streets of Defence Colony, telephoning X, Y and Z. That’s when my wallet went missing. It contained a bank debit card, my metro card and about 3,000 rupees. Fortunately, I carry my MSF identity card with a photocopy of my passport, visa and residence permit in a plastic folder. My UK credit card is in the safe in the apartment.

So I needed a boost. A colleague took me out to lunch at a posh restaurant (excellent seafood platter) and afterwards we went to the Art Fest at the Thyagraj Sports Stadium. In order to get in, we had to register. I wrote down that I was an “artist” rather than a collector or gallery owner. There were about fifty booths displaying paintings, with a few small sculptures.

The theme seemed to be cows. To be contin-moo-ed.

3 Replies to “India Art Festival 2017”

  1. I think the different representations of the cow is quite stunning. Sorry you got robbed- I know the feeling, having had considerably note stollen on holiday over the Xmas period. Hope the sea food made up for it!

Leave a Reply

